Uncategorized

Random Thoughts

I tried spaghetti squash for the first time last week, and I am hooked. My plan was to try this Spaghetti Squash Caprese Bake I had seen on Pinterest, but for whatever reason, my grocery store was out of spinach (and when I ran to Walmart while the squash was cooking, they were out too!) so I couldn’t. Instead, I just mixed the “noodles” with a bunch of spices and half a jar of tomato sauce, topped it with cheese, and baked it for 15-ish minutes. DELICIOUS.

Super Easy Spaghetti Squash Bake

Not an attractive picture, but it tasted SO good.

With the beginning of a new year inevitably comes the people who made a resolution to work out and/or eat healthy. Unfortunately, that means there’s also all kinds of negative talk about these “resolution-ers” showing up in the gym. One of my Facebook friends posted “Who the hell are these people in my gym lol” and then a few comments on her post later, she said “I shouldn’t hate bc I was once them.” EXACTLY. This is my point. We all had our first day in the gym once. We all had to start somewhere. I cringe every time I read a post like this. I’ve even stopped following people on Facebook and Twitter who post negative things like this. Shouldn’t we be happy that people are getting into the gym and taking control of their health?

[Hah, just thought this was funny :) source]

[Hah, just thought this was funny :) source]

Live with Kelly & Michael retweeted me last week! And about one of my favorite celebs.. Eminem! Anyone else LOVE working out to his music? The Eminem Pandora station always gets me so pumped.

Live retweet

Influenster sent me a new razor to try recently: the Venus Embrace Sensitive. I have pretty sensitive skin.. especially when it comes to shaving. Scented shaving creams/gels make my legs break out, and I’ve tried MANY razors over the years in an effort to find one that results in a smooth shave without any cuts every time. I’ve been using the Bic Soleil (4-blade) razors for years, and I absolutely love them. This new razor may give them a run for their money though. The Venus Embrace Sensitive gave me a smooth shave that lasted for days, AND the way the “head” bent kept me from missing any spots (like the back of my knee.. that’s always a problem).

Venus Embrace Sensitive

Got it from Influenster

Finally, can we just talk about what an amazing human being Leonardo DiCaprio is? Well, maybe I shouldn’t go that far.. I mean, I don’t know him. But he IS an incredibly talented actor. Mike and I saw The Wolf of Wall Street last weekend and we both loved it. Afterwards, we were talking about Leo and how great he was in the movie and we ended up talking about all the other movies he’s been in. Because he’s been in A LOT of movies. Just check out this list (Leonardo DiCaprio IMDB).. it’s insane how many GREAT movies he’s been in.

Leonardo DiCaprio

LOVE HIM.

Favorite Eminem song?
“The Real Slim Shady” or “Drop the World”

Favorite Leo movie?
Catch Me If You Can is one movie that I watch in its entirety
whenever I see that it’s on TV.

Favorite way to prepare spaghetti squash?
Because I am now obsessed and need all the recipes.

25 thoughts on “Random Thoughts

  1. Out of spinach in BOTH grocery stores?! Now that’s just crazy. Mmmm Eminem. Love him & his music. Id have to agree w/ you on The Real Slim Shady, however I’m obsessed with his new album – esp. Headlights. Have you heard it yet?

    • Right? I was in shock.. all I wanted was some spinach! And yesss, love the new album. I think Desperation is my favorite song on it right now.. love the other guy’s voice and how it sounds in the song.

    • He really is awesome. I wish someone had put a plate of spaghetti squash in front of me at some point in my life.. then I wouldn’t have waited so long to try it!

  2. I use the Bic Soleil too and love them. Maybe I’ll have to give this one a go. I have pretty sensitive skin too. I’m not sure I can pick a favorite Leo movie. I’m not really obsessed with him like some women, but he’s definitely a good actor.

    • i purposely don’t pay attention to his dating life, etc. because I just love him too much as an actor. “Fine wine” is the perfect way to describe him!

  3. I LOVE spaghetti squash! I love to cut it in half, roast it, shred it (and put it back in the shell to look all fancy) and i just enjoy it with a vodka pesto cream sauce and roasted veggies – zucchini, pepper, onion.. I usually top others off with some freshly grated parm (im lactose intolerant and choose my battles)…… ” catch me if you can” is a definite favourite. I also LOVED shutter island for the complete mind f*ck

    • Mmm mmm.. that sounds good! And yesss, Shutter Island is a good one. I really want to read that book too.. I just have to wait a little bit longer in the hopes that I forget most of the twists in the movie haha.

  4. I think you hit a few of my favorite things with this one too :) Love leo, especially in the departed, and really want to see his new one. Not afraid is one of my fav eminem songs, and anything with pasta sauce, cheese and spaghetti squash is good in my book ;)

  5. Wow, you know resolutions are in full effect when grocery stores are out of spinach! I will always have a spot in my heart for The Beach. Thanks to that movie, we decided to copy Leo and head to Thailand for our honeymoon. He’s such an amazing actor though, it’d be hard to pick just one favorite.

  6. Pingback: Pinterest Challenge: Spaghetti Squash Caprese Bake | Peace & Pizza

  7. Leonardo Dicaprio really is a wonderful actor. I’m always blown away by his acting ability (he’s also not bad to look at.) My favorite role will always have to be Titantic. Cliche, I know! I also really loved The Departed.

Leave a Reply

