Holidays / MIMM / Recipes

Cookies, Cupcakes, and SNL

What a marvelous weekend! Saturday morning, I woke up without an alarm, feeling well-rested. Made myself a cup of white chocolate mint coffee (grabbed one of the last two boxes of these bad boys at Bed, Bath & Beyond on Friday night) and laid in bed reading Let It Snow, a collection of Christmas stories by YA authors.

Saturday morning

Ran out to Walmart to get a few last-minute baking essentials, came home, and started baking!

I started with Festive Candy Cane Bites. These were a big hit last year, and they’re super easy to make.

Next up was chocolate chip cookies.. I always use Phoebe Buffay’s grandmother’s secret recipe ;) and around Christmas, I add crushed candy canes to the mix. Candy cane chocolate chip cookies may be my very favorite Christmas cookie ever. Back in the day, when I was in Girl Scouts, we spent an entire day baking cookies as a troop. My group made those cookies, and I’ve loved them ever since.

Hot Chocolate Cookies

Karen posted about this Hot Chocolate Cookie recipe last week saying “It is incredible. Go make these.” She was not joking. These cookies are awesome. I love that the marshmallows look a little toasted, like they’ve been roasted over a fire. This is one recipe you really need to try.

Iced Italian Cookies

My friend posted a picture on Facebook of the “knot” cookies she made.. I’ve always liked these cookies, but I’ve never made them myself. Hers looked delicious, so of course I asked for the recipe. Great success! I LOVE how festive these Iced Italian Cookies look!

Saturday night = Jimmy Fallon & Justin Timberlake on SNL!!!
Didn’t catch it? Do yourself a favor and watch this…

Mike and I decided Sunday morning would be our Christmas, just the two of us, because the next three days will be spent running around from one house to the next. We had breakfast together and sipped coffee while opening our gifts. We got each other clothes, k-cups, and a few treats (all practical gifts), BUT Mike got me a Polar watch (which he actually gave me Saturday night as we were leaving for the gym) and the penguin with its foot smooshed in a cupcake!!! Mike wins Christmas this year. ;)

PIER ONE PENGUIN

What’s your favorite Christmas cookie?
Did you watch SNL this weekend?
Anyone else celebrate Christmas a little early?

14 thoughts on “Cookies, Cupcakes, and SNL

  1. Mm those cookies look and sound awesome! I have two new favs to add to my collection this year: chewy lemon cookies and salted chocolate truffle both from how sweet it is…soooo good and contrast perfectly with each other! Have a wonderful holiday hun!

  2. That SNL was ridiculously funny. It was like a “greatest hits” of sorts. I haven’t watched it in years, but I made sure to DVR it when I found out Fallon and JT were on it.

    We did our best friend Christmas this weekend and I got an awesome shirt and runner medal hanger. I like your little cupcake penguin! My favorite cookie is one my aunt always used to bring which I call fake thin mints. They’re a chocolatey cookie with a melted Andes mint on top. They taste just like a thin mint, but are soft and chewy instead of crunchy.

  3. I always make Pheobe’s grandmother’s secret chocolate chip cookie recipe as well. I’ve never thought to put candy canes in it though. Yum!! Thanks for the idea!

  4. Favorite cookie is our family recipe that goes back over 65 years! Sugar cookies made with almond extract.
    I LOVED SNL on Saturday…wish it was that funny every weekend.

    • Ooh, I’m always jealous of people with family recipes like that. No one in my family really spends any time in the kitchen, so we don’t really have any of those. I’m hoping I’ll be able to find a recipe that I pass down to my kids, though!

Leave a Reply

